Abattoir remembered

Picture shows Mary Hall (Chair) and other members of the Civic Society, Eddie Smeaton Delivery Office Manager, Scott Clelland Fife Council Parks and Countryside Service, Ronnie Lewis Development Worker, and Andrew Walker and Paul Davie who carried out the work.
Picture shows Mary Hall (Chair) and other members of the Civic Society, Eddie Smeaton Delivery Office Manager, Scott Clelland Fife Council Parks and Countryside Service, Ronnie Lewis Development Worker, and Andrew Walker and Paul Davie who carried out the work.

THE site of Kirkcaldy’s former abattoir has been commemorated with a memorial plaque.

A sandstone shield which used to adorn the front of the building was placed on the ground now home to the post office sorting depot.

The stone had been placed into storage and forgotten, until 2007 when it was re-discovered by a member of Kirkcaldy Civic Society, Sheila Goodfellow. The society decided to try and make use of the shield which had lain abandoned for so long.

The abattoir was closed in June 1986 and later demolished and the sandstone had been stored at Beveridge Park.

The Post Office was contacted and granted permission to display the stones at the site, where the abattoir first opened in July, 1932.

Kirkcaldy Civic Society then worked in conjunction with Fife Council’s skills development centre to carry out the work with the parks and countryside team.

Jake Arnott, development worker with enterprise, planning and protective services, said: “We were very pleased to help Kirkcaldy Civic Society with this project.

“It has given our trainees valuable experience and a sense of pride in creating a lasting contribution to Kirkcaldy’s heritage.”