Awards for area’s beaches

Elie Beach
Elie Beach

Almost half of Fife’s award winning beaches this year are in the Levenmouth and East Neuk areas.

A total of six in these areas have once again retained their Scottish Seaside Awards from Keep Scotland Beautiful, with more beaches than ever receiving credit for environmental quality and an exceptional seaside experience.

Across Scotland a record-breaking 61 beaches have been recognised with 14 of them in Fife. Among those in the Kingdom are Billowness, Crail Roome Bay, Elie Harbour and Ruby Bay, Kingsbarns and Leven.

The awards, given annually, recognise good water quality and excellent litter, safety and environmental management procedures.

Each Fife award beach has retained the award for at least the last three years.

Robbie Blyth, coastal team leader at Fife Coast and Countryside Trust, said: “Fife is Scotland’s top outdoor tourism destination, and it is hugely rewarding that 14 of our beaches have been recognised for excellence in litter management, safety measures and water quality.

“We have invested in all these beaches to make them as accessible, safe and enjoyable as possible, especially as they all lie along the Fife Coastal Path – Scotland’s most popular coastal path.”

Councillor Gavin Yates, Executive spokesman for community health and wellbeing at Fife Council, said: “It’s fantastic news that Fife’s beautiful beaches have national recognition again this year.

“Our coast is a hugely important factor in the health and wellbeing of Fifers as well as being a great tourist attraction that contributes towards local community economies.

“The high standard of this year’s award winning beaches is a credit to the hard work 
of the local people that 
contribute to their upkeep as well as the partnership 
working of Fife Coast and Countryside Trust and Fife Council.”

This year’s 14 award winning beaches in Fife:
 St Andrews West Sands, award winner since 1993; Aberdour Black Sands, award winner since 1994; Aberdour Silver Sands, award winner since 1994; Billowness, Anstruther, award winner since 2012; Burntisland, award winner since 2001; Crail Roome Bay, award winner since 1999; Elie Harbour Beach, award winner since 2012; Elie Ruby Bay, award winner since 1999; Kinghorn (Pettycur), award winner since 2001; Kinghorn Harbour, award winner since 2009; Kingsbarns, award winner since 2003; Kirkcaldy Seafield, award winner since 2008;

Leven, award winner since 2008; St Andrews East Sands, award winner since 2001.