Mercat Cross, Culross
Culross Mercat Cross, which stands on the cobbled streets of the picturesque town, is category A listed and a scheduled ancient monument.
It dates back to around 1600, but was reconstructed in 1902, when a replacement shaft and head were mounted on its original octagonal base.
On the faces of the cube-shaped head are inscribed the burgh arms; the Provost’s initials; a monogram of King James VI - who granted the burgh royal status - and the arms of Sir James Sivewright, who paid for the restoration of the Cross.
The unicorn on top was copied from Stirling Mercat Cross and was given by a local laird to commemorate the coronation of King Edward VII and Queen Alexandra.
As with other market crosses, the Mercat Cross occupies a prominent central position in the town and was once a meeting place for traders.
It’s situated directly next door to The Study, built in 1610 and thought to have been used by Bishop Leighton of Dunblane on visits to Culross in the 17th century.
Both structures featured in the recent filming of the series ‘Outlander’.