Alex Rowley wins Cowdenbeath with 5400 majority

editorial image

editorial image


Alex Rowley will swap Fife House for Holyrood after an emphatic victory in the Cowdenbeath by-election.

The 1.00 a.m. declaration confirmed Labour held the seat, and with a much bigger majority.

Mr Rowley took the late Helen Eadie’s majority from 1300 to 5488 as he polled 11,192 votes - well ahead of Natalie McGarry (SNP) who finished second on 5704.

David Dempsey was a comfortable third for the Tories on 1893, while UKIP candidate Denise Baykal took fourth on 610 - pushing the Lid Dems’ Jade Holden into fifth on 425.

The swing to Labour was 11.25%

Minority candidates Stuart Graham (Victims Final Rights Party) got 187 votes, while James Trolland (Scottish Democratic Alliance) got 51.

Total votes cast were 20,062.




Back to the top of the page