DCSIMG

History in the making at Fife Folk Museum

The finishing touches are being added to the new visitor centre

The finishing touches are being added to the new visitor centre

The finishing touches are being added to the new visitor centre at Fife Folk Museum in Ceres as it prepares to open its doors on Tuesday.

The opening marks the culmination of a major expansion project that began last summer.

The museum’s floor space has been significantly increased and a new display area created - helped by a £40,000 windfall from Museums Galleries Scotland to buy display cases and install CCTV.

The new visitor centre makes access easier, as what was previously a rear entrance has become the main entrance. A new covered area extends over and beyond the lean-to part of the building that previously housed agricultural implements.

Visitors arriving in Ceres car park will now cross the footbridge into the museum garden and the new main entrance, while visitors arriving at the High Street side of the museum will find clear directions guiding them to the new main entrance via the garden.

Once inside, visitors can enjoy a tour of the new season’s exhibitions, which include Mrs Ella Shaw’s costume collection, a beautiful sack-back dress, a selection of Wemyss Ware specially chosen by Griselda Hill, and a celebration of 700 years of the Ceres Games. Also on display is Cupar Quilters’ interpretation of the Cupar Weavers’ Banner of 1727.

Another new feature for 2014 is Hatter’s Tearoom and Eatery, run by Stella Colliluori and her staff.

 

Comments

 
 

Back to the top of the page