Plans are afoot to restore one of the oldest buildings in Pittenweem.
The Priory Gatehouse, located on Priory Court, off Marygate, is an A-listed building which dates back to the 15th century and is the only surviving Scottish Augustinian gatehouse.
The Priory at Pittenweem was a Benedictine foundation and was in existence as early as 1221. Now the gatehouse is owned by Bishop Low’s but is in poor condition and very damp. Recently, the Gatehouse has been used by St John’s Episcopal Church, by community groups and as a venue for the Pittenweem Arts Festival.
Some years ago a Gatehouse Restoration Group was formed with the aim of raising £250,000 to save this historic gem.
The Group is now preparing a business plan to support major funding applications and is keen to gauge interest in the restored building. It will be warm, water-tight and, with wifi connection to the internet, will be suitable for group meetings, receptions and exhibitions.
Members of the public are invited to contact Professor Anthony Lodge by email at firstname.lastname@example.org to register their interest, make further suggestions or get more information.