HISTORY will be leaving the confines of the museum and taking to the streets – and houses – of Cellardyke in an innovative one-off exhibition.
Over the course of a single evening, around 20 householders in the East Neuk village will open their doors to visitors to show and discuss pieces they have selected from the collection at the nearby Scottish Fisheries Museum.
Iconic images from Cellardyke’s rich past will also be displayed in lightboxes in many of the windows of the houses taking part in James, John and George Streets while a show of contemporary images of the village and its people will mark the starting point for the walking tour.
Described as a museum through the streets of Cellardye, the ‘Home from the Sea’ event started several months ago when local residents were invited to participate by choosing items from the museum, many of which had a connection with their homes.
“It’s made a real personal connection and generated a huge amount of interest,” said Fisheries Museum curator Linda Fitzpatrick. “Some people have really been bitten by the history bug, researching their item and the history of their home.”
One couple, whose house in John Street was known to be the home of a ‘Spirit Dealer’ (thought perhaps to be an off-licence or pub) from at least 1841 to 1881, chose ‘Old Cellardyke Beer Bottle’, which had been bottled in George Street.
Another resident has selected an oilskin as his home at one time was an oilskin factory.
Home from the Sea, which has been funded by Museums Galleries Scotland and produced in conjunction with The Red Field, takes place on March 23, with visitors setting off on the walking tour from the museum between 7-7.45pm and finishing at The Haven.