Course conquered by Falkland Trail Runners

Falkland Trail Runners were out in force for the Hill of Hope Charity Trail Race last week.

Wednesday, 27th July 2016, 3:09 pm
Updated Thursday, 25th August 2016, 4:21 pm
Carole Mowbray , Falkland Trail Runners
Carole Mowbray , Falkland Trail Runners

The five-mile course comprised traffic free paths and trails in the countryside and woodlands surrounding the village of Strathmiglo.

It proved to be a testing course for all of those who took part.

The scenic routes took racers across some of the finest greenery in the north east of Fife .

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

But the local athletes flourished at the event, and returned home with a series of impressive times to add to their records.

The first Skwerl home in 19th position was Craig Milligan with Carole Mowbray first female in 36th overall and fourth female.

The race was won by James Traynor who runs for the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service AC.

The club were also represented in the Newburgh 4.2 miles race.

The ever impressive Brian Cruikshank completed the course in 26 minutes 29 seconds to place ninth with 55th and first FV40 Suzanne Lumsden,56th and 1st FV50 Carol Mowbray and 65th Keith Bonthrone 33.06.

The race was won by Ben Hukins from the Leven Las Vegas Club in 23.24.

Falkland Trail Runners members were also in action in five different 5k parkruns on Saturday morning including John Wilmot who contested the Lake Joondalup event in Perth, Western Australia.

Parkruns continue to be popular with racers across the globe with Kingdom athletes getting in on the act.


Edinburgh - 40 Mark Western 19.36,218 Scott Fraser24.30.

St Andrews -3 & 1MV50 Brian Cruickshank 18.24,5 Jason Sharp 19.26, 9 Colin Smith 19.58,

39 Alex Jarrett 23.02, 40 Keith Bonthrone 23.09,

68 Andy Cameron 25.23, 84 Malcolm McTavish 26.03, 95 & 25F Suzanne Lumsden 26.25,

101 Ritchie Watters 26.53, 149 & 58F KarenCampbell 31.03, 178 Andy Harley 35.03.

Livingston - 109 & 31F Alexa Tweddle 30.09.

Lake Joondalup - 37 John Wilmot 23.21.

Kirkcaldy - 10 Brian Innes 19.32, 44 & 3F Lyndsay MacKay 23.43, 47 Kevin Murray 24.11, 50 Sandy Adam24.23.