Emphatic victory ride out for Karro at Leuchars

Mattis Karro leads the way during one of the races
Mattis Karro leads the way during one of the races

COMPETITORS from many parts of Scotland, England and Ireland took part in the first round of the Scottish Motocross Championships at the Comerton Farm track at Leuchars.

The circuit is renowned for its deep sand and has been modified since last year with several new banked corners and some huge tabletop jumps. It has been reverted to a clockwise direction and was meticulously prepared by the Glenrothes club for the event.

Grand Prix rider, Matiss Karro, made his trip to Scotland a successful one and in emphatic style he blitzed all three Safe Access MX1 races.

The opening contert kicked off with Karro leading and chased by local favourite and current Scottish champion, Ross Rutherford. However, the latter dumped his bike allowing Stephen Sword the opportunity to score a second place, although Ross worked his way back into third by the flag.

Again, the talented Latvian had no real opposition in the second race and cruised to an easy 28-second victory over Rutherford, while Daniel Hutchinson won a battle with Jamie Law for third.

Stephen Sword’s weekend ended with a trip over the handlebars leaving him with no score.

The third MX1 race followed a similar pattern, only it was Jamie Law following Karro on this occasion. At the flag, Karro’s lead was a decisive margin of a 39 seconds with Rutherford coming home in third.

On a day of dominant performances, another GP star, Mel Pocock, ran away with all three MX2 races with Stuart Edmonds scoring three second places.

Bradley Pocock and Michael McCrammond provided the best racing in this class, fighting tooth and nail to end the meeting equal on points. Bradley took the decision for third on account of his better last race score.

Local interest was provided by David Houston and 15-year-old John Adamson, finishing equal on points in sixth and seventh places.

Overall results - Safe Access MX1 - 1 Matiss Karro; 2 Ross Rutherford; 3 Jamie Law; 4 Daniel Hutchinson; 5 Gavin Robertson; 6 Gary Gibson.

MX2 - 1 Mel Pocock; 2 Stuart Edmonds; 3 Bradley Pocock; 4 Michael McCrammond; 5 Fraser Wakeford; 6 David Houston.