Fife author’s debut novel on crime fiction shortlist

Neil Broadfoot
Neil Broadfoot

A Fife author’s novel has been shortlisted for a prestigious crime writing award.

Neil Broadfoot’s debut crime thriller, ‘Falling Fast’, is in the running for the Deanston Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award, placing him alongside some of the top names in Scottish crime fiction including Chris Brookmyre and Louise Welsh.

Neil, a former journalist who now works as a communications officer, said: “Being shortlisted for the Deanston is an absolute honour - and totally surreal.

“The crime-writing scene is bursting with incredible talent and great people at the moment, and to be plucked from all those brilliant writers is a humbling experience.

“I’ve been a fan of Bloody Scotland (Scotland’s International Crime Writing Festival) as a reader for years, to be here now on the shortlist is just fantastic. Bloody brilliant, in fact.”

And to celebrate his shortlisting, the father of two is running a competition for one reader of his work to appear as a character in the second book of the ‘Falling Fast’ trilogy, which is due out next year.

Anyone who fancies the chance of winning this ultimate treat for a crime fiction fan simply needs to tweet why they liked Neil’s book along with the hashtag #FallingFast before August 31 and the author will pick the tweet that he likes best. The writer of the winning tweet will see their name appear in Neil’s next book.

‘Falling Fast’ was also a Dundee International Book Prize finalist last year.

From its shock opening to the final jaw-dropping twist, ‘Falling Fast’ draws the reader into the world of Doug McGregor, a crime reporter juggling two stories: the hunt for a convicted rapist and the grisly death of a prominent politician’s daughter.

Working off the record with insider contact and sometime sparring partner DS Susie Drummond, Doug uncovers secrets, brutal violence, drug abuse, murder - and the ultimate taboo.

The other shortlisted titles for this year’s award are ‘Flesh Wounds’ by Chris Brookmyre; ‘The Amber Fury’ by Natalie Haynes; ‘Entry Island’ by Peter May; ‘A Lovely Way to Burn’ by Louise Welsh and ‘In the Rosary Garden’ by Nicola White.

The winner of the award will be announced on September 20.

Award-winning criteria

The Deanston Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award provides Scottish crime writing with recognition and aims to raise the profile and prestige of the genre as a whole.

Scottish roots are a must for competition applications: authors must either be born in Scotland, live there or set their books there.

Crime fiction, non-fiction and anthologies of short crime stories are all eligible.