The Cross, Cupar
Cupar’s Mercat Cross hit the headlines in November 2013 when it was re-located for the first time in over a century.
It had stood on an island at the top of the town’s Crossgate since 1897, having been moved there from its previous location at Hill of Tarvit in time for Queen Victoria’s Jubilee celebrations.
But as part of a £1.6 million re-vamp of Cupar’s congested road system, it was decided to move the structure to a pavement a few feet away that had been specially widened.
Specialist contractors were brought in to dismantle it stone by stone and re-erect it, repairing the iconic unicorn on top as part of the process.
Shortly afterwards a small glass time capsule - dating from 1897 - was unearthed in the foundation stone.
It was carefully opened by Fife Council’s archaeologist and contained a variety of coins, papers and handwritten messages, most of which were gifted to the town’s heritage centre.
When the Cross was re-dedicated last May, a new time capsule was buried for future generations to discover should it ever be moved again.