Line-up of Glenrothes election candidates confirmed

FIVE candidates will be bidding for the town seat at next month’s Scottish election.

Claire Baker (Labour), Callum Leslie (Liberal Democrat), Tricia Marwick (Scottish National Party), Jim Parker (All Scotland Pensioners Party) and Allan Smith (Conservative) will contest the constituency vote on May 5.

The constituency covering the town and the surrounding area is now called Mid-Fife and Glenrothes.

It was created last year and differs in area from the former Central Fife seat which was won at the last poll, four years ago, by Mrs Marwick.

It now includes Thornton, Kinglassie, Lower and Upper Largo and Lundin Links, but has lost Methil, Methilhill and Buckhaven.

She took it from Labour’s Christine May with a majority of 1,166, with the Liberal Democrats third and the Conservatives fourth.

The ‘first past the post’ seat had been held by Labour since the first parliament poll in 1999.

A number of locally-based candidates are also standing for the Mid-Scotland and Fife constituency ‘list’ vote.

Under the proportional representation voting system used in that poll, parties will be allocated a number of seats reflecting the votes cast for them and will allocate them to candidates on their ‘list’.

Claire Baker, a list MSP in the last parliament, and Jim Parker will both seek election through that method as well as by the ‘first past the post vote’.

Other list candidates include Glenrothes councillors John Beare (SNP) and Kay Morrison (Labour).

Town woman, Morag Balfour, is on the Scottish Socialist Party list.

Andrew Rodger, another Fife councillor and prominent health campaigner, is standing as an Independent.

Other candidates on the list include those from the British National, Christian, Christian People’s Alliance, Conservatives, Greens, Socialist Labour, Solidarity and United Kingdom Independence parties.