Meet Kirkcaldy’s new MSYPs

editorial image

YOUNG people in Kirkcaldy have two new representatives to help express their views on national issues. With the Scottish elections looming, young Fifers took part in a different vote last week, when new Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament were elected.

Ten new MSYPs were given the good news that they will be taking on the role for the next two years.

And young people in Kirkcaldy turned out in droves to vote in Sanah Idrees (16), from Balwearie High School, and Cairinne McDonald (*), from Kirkcaldy High, to represent the town.

Fife had the highest number of candidates for any local authority area in Scotland, with 43 youngsters putting themselves forward as potential MSYPs.

Cairinne, who volunteers at youth projects in the town, said in her manifesto: “I believe young people are the future, therefore there should be more policies that regard the welfare and concerns of young people in Scotland and future generations.”

Sanah, who is currently studying for her highers, said she wants to make changes for more affordable transport, equality in Fife and more facilities in Kirkcaldy. She said: “It is shocking that in Fife there is not many places for young people to go. The closest place that has a cinema is Dunfermline. We have to travel out of Kirkcaldy to go to some decent shops. This needs to change and it needs to change now.”

In Fife more than 4500 votes were cast - an increase of almost 30 per cent on the 2009 election - with a huge 1246 votes counted in Kirkcaldy alone. Duncan Simpson, young people’s service manager with Fife Council, said: “Young people in Fife have shown time and time again that they want to have a chance to be represented in decisions that affect their lives, and this is another illustration.

“I want also to pay tribute to those who have been MSYPs in the current session. They have been dedicated and hard working and great champions for young people in Fife. They achieved considerable status in the present Parliament where a number were elected to national positions.”