New facilities for Silver Sands summer season

Provost Frances Melville officially opened the new cafe at Silver Sands, Aberdour
Provost Frances Melville officially opened the new cafe at Silver Sands, Aberdour

THE new cafe and toilet facilities at Aberdour’s Silver Sands were officially opened last week.

The previous cafe was burned down in June 2005 and, after a long period of negotiations to agree an insurance settlement, Fife Council began the rebuild process.

Provost Frances Melville officially opened the building last Monday, and combined it with the raising of the Blue Flag for the beach.

The event was attended by members of the local community, representatives of Keep Scotland Beautiful and Councillor Alice McGarry, chairman of the Council’s south west Fife area committee.

Locals identified the key features of the new design through a consultation.

These included maximising the sea views and providing a cafe or restaurant which add value to Silver Sands and operate throughout the year.

They also thought the project should use sustainable practices such as solar panels, light capture, green roof and timber cladding.

Catering for the project, which cost £520,000, will be provided by the Council’s domestic services for the current season.

It is then hoped to re-tender the restaurant over the summer, with the plan to bring in a new private concession for the future to run a year round family-friendly restaurant, broadening the scope and use of the facility.

Provost Melville said: “This is a wonderful facility that I am sure local people will make good use of.

‘‘I would encourage as many as possible to come along and visit this new cafe and one of Fife’s Blue Flag beaches.”

Councillor McGarry added: “Silver Sands is one of the most popular resorts on the Fife coast.

“This level of investment in the facilities shows the council’s commitment to improving leisure facilities and that we are listening to our local communities.”

Aberdour Silver Sands has held the Blue Flag for 14 years along with the Seaside Award, which has been consistently held for 18 years.