£880,000 conversion project completed at historic Kirkcaldy hospital building
and live on Freeview channel 276
Kingdom Housing Association has created five self-contained flats along with two common areas at the Category-B listed Hunter House which once formed part of Hunter Hospital.
It bought the landmark building - which sits opposite the empty Tesco supermarket - last year.
The development will now provide supported accommodation to older people experiencing recurring homelessness.
The project not only supports the Rapid Rehousing Strategy in Fife but also ensures the longevity of a classic building in Kirkcaldy town centre.
Bill Banks, chief executive, was delighted with the final results.
He said, “The conversion work is incredible.
“Our designers and contractors have been able to retain many of the features that make this building unique and I’m confident that the new residents will enjoy the blend of classic architecture combined with modern design and materials.”
The project, which cost around £880,000, was supported by Fife Council, the Scottish Government, Kingdom Support & Care and many other organisations.
Julie Watson, Kingdom’s interim head of capital investment described it as “a very challenging but thoroughly rewarding project.
She added: ”In addition to the conversion of this historic building into five high quality affordable homes, it has enabled a range of community benefits to be delivered including two new apprenticeships, three existing apprenticeships and the creation of two new labouring jobs.
“Campion Homes has also made a financial donation to the local food bank and funded the furniture starter packs for the new Hunter House homes.
“The project is an excellent example of what can be achieved through collaborative working, with all partners pursuing similar objectives.”
Originally known as St Brycedale House, the building dates from 1785 and was acquired by local cabinet maker and builder John Hunter in 1886.
Upon his death, he left his house in trust to be converted into a hospital.
It was renamed Hunter Hospital and opened in 1936 and was in operation until its closure in 1992.
After sitting empty for a number of years, and following conversion and new build work, the listed building was renamed Hunter House.