Scottish Election 2021 results: Status quo maintained with Mid-Scotland and Fife list MSPs

The status quo has been maintained in Mid-Scotland and Fife, with four Conservatives, two Labour and one Green MSP returned on the regional ballot.

By Jon Brady
Saturday, 8th May 2021, 8:15 pm

Murdo Fraser, Liz Smith, Dean Lockhart and Alexander Stewart have been returned for the Tories, replicating the result in 2016.

Alex Rowley and Claire Baker have also been returned for Labour, while Mark Ruskell was returned for the Scottish Greens.

A total of 344,660 people across the Mid-Scotland and Fife region - made up of Cowdenbeath, North East Fife Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy, Mid-Fife and Glenrothes, Perthshire North, Perthshire South and Kinross-shire, Stirling and Clackmannanshire and Dunblane - voted - a turnout of 66.73 per cent.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

Murdo Fraser has been re-elected as a Mid-Scotland and Fife MSP. Picture: Phil Wilkinson

In all, 344,059 valid ballots were cast, with 601 discarded due to being unmarked or invalid.

The declaration was made around 7.40pm by Fife Council chief executive and regional returning officer Steve Grimmond.


First additional member: Murdo Fraser (CON)

Second additional member: Liz Smith (CON)

Third additional member: Claire Baker (LAB)

Fourth additional member: Mark Ruskell (GRN)

Fifth: Dean Lockhart (CON)

Sixth: Alex Rowley (LAB)

Seventh: Alexander Stewart (CON)

Vote counts

Abolish The Scottish Parliament – 945

Alba Party – 5893

All for Unity – 2,578

Freedom Alliance – 837

Reform – 808

Scottish Conservatives – 85,909

Scottish Family Party – 1,920

Scottish Green Party – 28,654

Scottish Labour Party – 52,626

Scottish Liberal Democrats – 25,489

Scottish Libertarian Party – 818

Scottish National Party – 136,825

Scottish Renew – 99

UK Independence Party – 399

Mercy Kamanja Independent – 29

Martin Keatings Independent – 230

Total valid votes – 344,059

Rejected papers – 601

Turnout – 66.73%

More follows