Taylor is tops in Christmas card contest

Taylor Holland (11) receiving her certificate from Sam Grogan, Sainsbury's manager and David Torrance MSP.
Taylor Holland (11) receiving her certificate from Sam Grogan, Sainsbury's manager and David Torrance MSP.

A Torbain Primary pupil has put pen to paper to win a special Christmas card design competition.

Taylor Holland (11), who is in primary seven, beat off stiff competition from over 360 entries from pupils at Pathhead, Valley, Kirkcaldy West and Torbain to be selected as the winner of a parliamentary Christmas card contest.

The winning card design

The winning card design

All the designs were collected at the schools and then handed in to the Sainsbury’s store based in Fife Central Retail Park, Kirkcaldy.

Her winning design will now feature on the official Christmas card being sent out by Kirkcaldy MSP David Torrance this year.

The entries were whittled down to 12 earlier this week by Fife Free Press community reporter Tanya Scoon and some members of Sainsbury’s staff. Mr Torrance and Sam Grogan, manager of Sainsbury’s, then chose the winner and the three runners-up who were: Dionne Dear from Pathhead Primary; Lewis Johnston from Kirkcaldy West and Lauren Scott from Valley Primary.

Mr Torrance is going to have 700 copies of the winning Christmas card design printed off to use as his official card and Taylor’s name will be on the back. As part of her prize, Taylor will go to the printers to see her card being printed.

She will also spend the day at Sainsbury’s where she will get breakfast, make a tannoy announcement, organise a huddle and receive a gift

Taylor will be a guest of David Torrance at the Scottish Parliament along with a member of staff from the school and she will be given a tour of the building. She will also be taken to lunch as Mr Torrance’s guest.

Mr Torrance said: “I am delighted with the design chosen for my parliamentary Christmas card this year and send my congratulations to the winner.

“I would like to thank all the students of the participating schools for the enthusiasm and creativity they have shown in their designs for this year’s competition.”