No changes will be made to the UK’s travel corridor list this year - apart from emergencies

The UK government has said there will be no further changes to the travel quarantine list for the rest of 2020, except in the case of emergencies.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said the Department for Transport (DfT) would only be making “emergency” changes to the list, in the case of a country experiencing a sudden rise in the number of coronavirus infections.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Mr Shapps wrote on Twitter, “Providing certainty to those travelling over Xmas, we will only make EMERGENCY removals to the #TravelCorridor list if needed for the next two weeks. Next regular update 7th Jan.”

However, a few planned changes to the travel corridor list will come into effect at 4am on Saturday 19 December. Uruguay, Namibia and the US Virgin Islands are being removed from the list, and any travellers returning to the UK from these destinations will have to self-isolate.

What is the current Foreign Office travel advice?

It’s worth noting that different rules are in place depending on the country you are planning on travelling to - or returning from - with rules also varying depending on where you live in the UK.

The Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) says, “Travel in your area, including international travel, may be restricted because of domestic regulations. Different rules apply in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Follow all the rules that apply to you.”

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The FCDO also notes that “other countries may close borders, restrict movement or bring in new quarantine rules with little warning.”

You can check the Foreign Office’s advice on things to consider in regards to travel and coronavirus.

Before you return to the UK, you must also provide your journey and contact details, alongside checking if you need to self isolate.