These countries have banned flights from the UK due to the new Covid strain

Countries across the world have imposed travel restrictions on the UK after a new strain of Covid was identified.

Boris Johnson imposed a strict Tier 4 lockdown in London and areas of south-east England, amid a surge in coronavirus cases thought to be caused by the new variant.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Shortly after, European countries including Germany, Italy and the Netherlands, announced temporary travel bans from the UK, and other countries have now followed suit with varying measures.

This is the full list of countries that have banned travel from the UK.

Why have the bans been imposed? 

The UK Government announced that a new strain of coronavirus had been discovered, with experts saying it could be up to 70 percent more transmissible. 

Health Secretary Matt Hancock told Sky News on 20 December that the new strain "was out of control”.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

He said: "It is an enormous challenge, until we can get the vaccine rolled out to protect people. This is what we face over the next couple of months.

"This is a deadly disease, we need to keep it under control, and it has been made more difficult by this new variant."

However, there is currently no evidence to suggest that the new strain of coronavirus can cause more serious or different symptoms to other variants.

After tighter restrictions were imposed in England and the four nations scrapped the five-day Christmas bubble plans, European nations began to impose travel bans due to fears of the new variant spreading across borders.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Netherlands was the first country to issue travel restrictions, swiftly followed by other nations like Germany, Italy and France.

The closing of the French border for 48 hours has caused chaos at the port of Dover, where lorries are currently unable to cross over the Channel. 

Now, other destinations are imposing travel bans for UK citizens, potentially affecting many people’s Christmas arrangements.

Boris Johnson is holding an emergency Cobra meeting on Monday 21 December to discuss the matter.

Which countries have enforced travel bans?

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Soon after the new strain announcement, major travel bans were imposed by key nations around the world.

This is the list so far:


Flight ban from midnight, 22 December.


Borders closed from 00:01, 21 December for at least 24 hours.


Air travel restricted from midnight on 21 December until 31 January, but British nationals with Bulgarian resident permit exempt. 


Passenger flight suspension from 24:00, 20 December, for 72 hours.


Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Direct flights to and from London suspended - no end date given.


Passenger air travel restricted for 48 hours from 23:00 20 December.

Czech Republic

Flight suspension from 21 December. 


Passenger flight ban from 9:00 21 December to 9:00 23 December.


No air passenger services from 22:00 20 December, until 1 January - subject to review.


All travel restricted from 12:00 21 December to 4 January.


Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Air, car, ferry and train travel banned from 24:00 20 December, for 48 hours.


All air passenger flights banned from 23:00, 20 December, to 23:00, 31 December.

Hong Kong

Travellers who have visited the UK for more than two hours within the past 14 days banned from entering from 22 December.


Flight ban from midnight 22 December until at least 31 December.


Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Flight ban for at least 48 hours from midnight 21 December.


Flight suspension from 20 December until 6 January. 


From 22 December, travellers who have been in the UK in the last 14 days cannot enter the country.


No passenger flights from midnight on 21 December.


All travel restricted from 04:00 21 December to 23:59 31 December.


All air passenger flights banned from midnight on 20 December for 24 hours, subject to review.


Flight suspension from UK.


Temporary flight ban from UK.


Flight suspension from midnight on 21 December.


Hide Ad
Hide Ad

All passenger travel banned, but Portugese citizens exempt, from 24:00 20 December. 


All passenger flights banned from 19:00 21 December for 14 days. 


Suspension of flights for one week. 


Suspension of flights from 22 December. Only Spanish citizens will be allowed to enter the country.


Travel restrictions to be implemented, but no date and time announced yet.


Flight suspension to and from UK.

The Netherlands

All air passenger flights banned from 6:00 20 December, until 1 January.


Suspension of air travel to and from UK.