Awards for Fife Flyers’ star players

Shane Owen, Fife Flyers (Pic: Steve Gunn)
Shane Owen, Fife Flyers (Pic: Steve Gunn)

Fife Flyers have honoured their players of the year.

The club staged its annual end of season awards event at the Bay Hotel in Kinghorn on Wednesday night.

Netminder Shane Owen enjoyed double success as he was named the fans’ player of the year, and also took home the coveted players’ player of the year.

And the key shot-stopper will complete a fantastic hat-trick when he collects the Fife Free Press’ Mirror of Merit award – the traditional player of the year honour which dates back to the 1950s – on home ice this Sunday.

Ryan Dingle was named forward of the year, while Russ Moyer was the defenceman of the year

The goal of the year went to Brendan Brooks for his strike against Belfast Giants last December.

Chris Wands was named British player of the year, while winger Sebastien Thinel was the unsung hero of the year

Top points scorer was Matt Sisca.