Cupar Golf

Cupar Golf Club  Peri trophy
Cupar Golf Club Peri trophy

CUPAR Golf Club has held its annual competition for the club’s famous Peripatetic (‘Peri’) Trophy.

The magnificent original trophy has been loaned for display in the British Golf Museum at St Andrews.

This year, the competition was held at Aberdour Golf Club and an impressive entry of 29 Cupar members competed for the trophy, led by last year’s winner, Allan Brown.

The Aberdour course is not long, but is really challenging.

There was a very close competition which this year produced a new winner, Howard Bell, who had an excellent net 65.

This was only a stroke ahead of past club champion, Julian Leek, who, like last year, finished second and has yet to win the ‘Peri’.

A further stroke behind was third-placed Derek Ronaldson.

A welcome feature of the day was the presence of a number of the club’s younger members, including Angus Liddle, who made his mark on the day by winning both the ‘nearest the pin’ and the ‘longest drive’ competitions – the latter with a huge drive of nearly 300 yards nearly reaching the front of the 11th green.

The afternoon event was an enjoyable 11-hole Texas Scramble, which was won by the team of Brian Douglas, John Nelson, Hugh Ironside and Howard Bell, but only by the narrow margin of 0.2 of one stroke!

Cupar vice-captain, Richard Finnie, presented the trophy and prizes.

He congratulated Howard and the other winners and thanked Aberdour Club for their excellent hospitality.

Later the party adjourned back to Cupar Golf Club to celebrate Howard’s victory.

It had been a great day with a good attendance and the ‘Peri’ continues to hold a special place in Cupar Golf Club’s calendar.

Members are now looking forward to the club’s finals day on Sunday, September 23.