Disability Sport Fife holds awards evening


THE 34th annual general meeting of Disability Sport Fife (DSF) was held at the Fife Sports Institute in Glenrothes.

Chairman Paul Noble presided over proceedings and president Richard Brickley presented a review of the very successful past year and co-ordinated the presentation of the annual awards.

Gavin Macleod, chief executive officer of Scottish Disability Sport, was the guest speaker and presenter of the awards to successful candidates, with support from the association administrator Norma Buchanan.

Paul Noble, David Thomson and Alec Thorburn were returned as chairman, secretary and treasurer respectively for another term.

The full list of award winners was as follows:

Access Awards – Allan Robertson (Glenrothes) and Kenny Dow (Glenrothes); Ian McNab Memorial Trophy (wheelchair athlete of the year) – David Cowieson, Dairsie (archery); Bowler of the Year – Michael Simpson (Auchtermuchty); Leslie Inglis Trophy (swimmer of the year) – Lucy Walkup, Glenrothes (Glenrothes Swimming Club); Aileen Harper Award - Junior Sports Person of the Year – Atlanta Crawford, Kirkcaldy (Balwearie HS); Aileen Harper Award – Most Improved Swimmer of the Year – Craig Smith (Glenrothes); Tom Donaldson Trophy for Endeavour – Craig Bernard (Robert Gough Centre, Leven); Coaches of the Year – Wendy Nicol, Dunfermline (athletics) and Wilma Catignani, Glenrothes (table tennis and multi-sports); Service to Sport Award – Matt Thomson, Kirkcaldy (bowls); Volunteer Special Recognition Award – Gordon Easton, Dalgety Bay (archery); Lifetime Achievement Awards – Billy Allan, Cowdenbeath (bowls) and Barbara McMillan, Cowdenbeath (bowls); Ian Cowper Trophy (Special Olympics Recognition Award) – Lloyd Simpson, Methil (multi-sports) and Maurice Paterson, Wormit (athletics); Special Awards for Commitment to DSF – Margaret Robson (Glenrothes ASC Swimming Official) and Dave Sellar (retired staff member at the Fife Sports Institute); Special Improvement Award for junior athletes – Kieran Steer, Cowdenbeath (boccia); Award for Excellence in Swimming – Craig Rodgie, Dalgety Bay (Edinburgh University Swimming Club); Track and Field Athlete of the Year Award – Owen Miller, Dunfermline; Outstanding Service to DSF Award – Carolyn Clunie (Robert Gough Centre, Leven).

The late Frank Duffy from Falkland was inducted into the DSF Hall of Fame.

DSF now has 13 international athletes in the Hall of Fame who have won a Paralympic silver medal or above.