Drivers tackle the slip and slide at Racewall

The stock cars returned to the Cowdenbeath Racewall on Saturday night and whilst it didn't rain during the meeting the drivers had to contend with a wet and greasy track.

Wednesday, 15th March 2017, 10:56 am
Updated Friday, 24th March 2017, 11:08 am
The  familiar colours of Levens Ross Watters were back at the Racewall.
The familiar colours of Levens Ross Watters were back at the Racewall.

Amongst the two litre National saloons in action were local drivers Kyle Irvine, Derek Duff, Duncan Welsh, James Strath (Cellardyke), Ross Watters (Leven) and Callum McIvor.

Heat one saw Barry Glen go through for a narrow win over Graeme Shevill and Watters with McIvor in fifth and just ahead of Irvine and Strath with Duff in ninth place.

Greg Honeyman moved into an early lead when heat two started before winning from Watters and Ian McLaughlin with Duff sixth and ahead of Irvine, Welsh and McIvor.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Although G Honeyman was first home he was penalised by the steward handing the win to Watters with Shevill second and the penalised G Honeyman third with Irvine in sixth and ahead of Duff with Welsh in ninth place.

G Honeyman was back out for the Allcomers race and promptly went on to win from Shevill and Watters with McIvor fifth.

There were a few 1300saloon drivers missing but they still were entertaining with Fraser Clark the only new face in action.

The Fife drivers in action included Michael Byers (Methil).

Grant McGowan got the proceedings under way as he went through to win heat one from Clark and Anderson with Hastie in fifth and just ahead of Cosans.

It was Anderson who made light of the field in heat two and he scored an easy win over Clark and Derek Campbell with Hastie fifth, Cosans seventh and Moye ninth

McGowan got the better of the exchanges to go on to pick up his second win of the night when he won the final from Campbell and Clark with Anderson ending up in fourth after being delayed at the start. Hastie picked up his third successive fifth spot with Cosans eighth and Byers in ninth place.

On Saturday the BriSCA formula II return. The meeting starts at 6.00pm.