Falkland take title with a stunning 50 run victory

Falkland Cricket Club's U16s made the long journey to the picturesque Castle Park in Huntly to play Arbroath in the grand final of the Moray League.
Falkland Cricket Club - Moray Grand Final winners.Falkland Cricket Club - Moray Grand Final winners.
Falkland Cricket Club - Moray Grand Final winners.

Arbroath chose to bowl first so it was Euan Sloan and Robbie Disborough who opened up the innings for Falkland.

Both batsmen didn’t waste much time in getting the scoreboard ticking over punishing anything loose.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The score raced to 75 in the 11th over when Robbie fell to a good delivery from Ben O’Mara for an excellent 33 (6 fours).

This brought Donnie Westwood to the crease who began very cautiously whilst Euan attacked at the other end.

Euan had reached 59 (10 fours) before chasing a wide one from Abbie Hogg and was excellently stumped by Hayden Evans - 106 for 2.

This proved to be a turning point as Chris Westwood went very next ball quickly followed by Cassius Haresign run out to a super piece of fielding by Daniel Salmond (109 for 4).

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Lyle Robertson and Donnie then began a repair job before Donnie was clean bowled by Daniel - 120 for 5 in the 21st over. Lyle was joined by Ryan Jennings with the pair adding 20 before Lyle gave Abbie her second wicket - 140 for 6 in the 26th.

Logan Briggs came in at No 8 but only three were added when Ryan got a good one from Megan McColl and was clean bowled. Peter Matthews was next and he and Logan took the score to 178 before Peter was caught.

At No 10 was Freddie Disborough who then provided great support to Logan who started to hit out.

Logan finished on 23 not out with Freddie on an undefeated 2 as the Falkland innings closed on 196 for 8 after their 40 overs.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Abbie Hogg took 3 for 21 from her 8 overs. A competitive total and key that the full 40 overs were utilised.

The Arbroath innings began with Hayden and Jamie Russell opening up.

Chris and Lyle opened the bowling and Lyle made the breakthrough in his first over bowling Jamie.

This brought Ben O’Mara to the crease and it wasn’t long before he and Hayden got going. A run rate of 6 an over took the score to 72 (12th over) before Logan trapped Ben (21) LBW.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Daniel was next in and Falkland knew this was a key partnership.

They took the score to 113 in the 18th when Logan struck again bowling Daniel (16). A fourth wicket fell immediately as Lyle returned to the attack bowling R Nicol.

Logan bowled Hayden who made an excellent 67. On the same score 118 Logan picked up the sixth and his fourth wicket with another LBW as he trapped Matthew Salmond in front.

Robbie Disborough (3 for 10) extinguished any hope Arbroathhad. Pete claimed the final wicket in the 27th over with Arbroath finishing on 146 all out and handing Falkland a 50 run win.

Man of the match - Logan Briggs - 23 not out and 4 for 40.

Related topics: