Fifers still waiting on first victory as Brechin win 2-1.

Darren Smith tries to create an opening.
Darren Smith tries to create an opening.

A VERY disappointing East Fife performance at Glebe Park saw the hosts turn the tables on them to win their first home game in five against the Fifers.

Brechin took advantage of two disastrous pieces of defending to take an early two-goal lead and, despite having most of the possession, the visitors just could not make a telling impact in front of goal.

With Gordon Durie missing from the sidelines, assistant Gordon Chisholm was in charge, with Bob Malcolm alongside.

In their first venture into the Fife penalty area, Brechin took the lead.

A long ball upfield from Stewart was headed on by former Fifer Scott Dalziel.

Jackson got on to it, unchallenged, and slotted it home, despite Michael Brown getting a hand to the effort.

There was hardly time for the shocked away support to get its breath when it was 2-0, two minutes later.

Another long pass out of defence was crossed into the danger area and, without a challenge, Jackson side-footed home.

Darren McCormack went off after 20 minutes and was replaced by Scott McBride.

In their quest for a goal, the Fifers left themselves exposed at the back and a slip by Craig Wedderburn left former Fifer Scott Dalziel clear.

However, Steve Campbell managed to get back to dispossess the striker on the point of shooting.

With 12 minutes left, the Fifers got on the scoresheet when, having made a few fruitless runs, substitute McBride’s great delivery was headed home low into the net by Wardlaw.

Brechin City – Andrews, J. Stewart, J. Brown, McLauchlan, Moyes, Brady (Fusco 63), R. Stewart, Molloy, Jackson, Dalziel, McKenna (Carcary 87). Subs – Murdoch, Trouten, Nelson.

East Fife – M. Brown, Cook, McCormack (McBride 64), Campbell, Wedderburn, Smith, Durie, Muir, McManus, Wardlaw, Sloan. Subs – White, R. Brown, Jamieson, Collier.

Referee – P. Robertson.

Attendance – 588.

Starcheck ratings – Sloan 3 points, Muir 2, McBride 1.

Starcheck table – Michael Brown 8, Darren Smith 7, Robert Sloan 5, Scott McBride 4, Darren McCormack 3, David Muir 3, Collin Samuel 3, Ross Brown 1, Steven Campbell 1, Gareth Wardlaw 1.