Second half collapse shatters Hearts

Cupar clear their lines from a Lumphinnans attack.
Cupar clear their lines from a Lumphinnans attack.

Lumphinnans United........7

Cupar Hearts.....................3

Cupar Hearts made the journey to face top of the League side Lumphinnans United and were presented with a huge ask to hand them their first defeat of the season.

A positive start by Cupar saw them put in a superb first half performance which meant they went into the break with a narrow lead but a disastrous second period left them rueing chances and reflecting once again on defensive woes.

Hearts opened the scoring on 18 minutes when the two Galloway brothers combined well with Callum winning the ball in midfield and threading the pass to Harry who coolly slotted the ball home.

Cupar’s lead didn’t last long though, as 60 seconds later an own goal by Darren Wilkinson put the sides back on equal terms.

Hearts regained their lead 10 minutes later when Michael Taylor’s free kick took a wicked deflection.

Cupar went further ahead when Robert McFarlane came rushing out his box to clear but only as far as Gary Sutherland who, 40 yards out, kept his composure and fired into an empty net.

The home side pulled one back right on half time through Dylan Hannah after poor defending by Hearts and the equaliser came on 50 minutes in similar fashion when Cupar failed to clear their lines.

Three minutes later the visitors found themselves on the back foot when Dylan Hannah’s corner kick for Lumphinnans was blasted into the net by Sam Bratchie.

Another poor decision by the referee saw him award a soft penalty to United and Sam Bratchie duly obliged from the spot.

Lumphinnans added salt to the wound and they did just that when John Burnside netted twice in two minutes.

Tomorrow (Saturday) Cupar Hearts are in Scottish Cup action when they welcome Bowhill Rovers at 2p.m.

Cupar Hearts - Rann, Thomas, Wilkinson, Middleton, Taylor, Crawford, Sutherland, C. Galloway (c), Lawlor, Bell and H. Galloway.

Subs - Russell, Cameron, Reilly, Robson, Simpson, Valentine, Moss and Anderson.