Wasteful Saints being curtain down on Super League efforts

St Andrews United..............0 Fauldhouse...........................2

Tuesday, 7th June 2016, 11:13 am
Updated Tuesday, 7th June 2016, 12:17 pm
Craig Wedderburn came out on top in a couple of the end of season awards.
Craig Wedderburn came out on top in a couple of the end of season awards.

St Andrews United played the final match of the season at home to Fauldhouse United on Saturday.

Saints were already relegated, but if Fauldhouse won by two clear goals they would avoid a two legged play off against Lochee United.

Sadly it was the same old story for Saints, with numerous good scoring opportunities wasted.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

That brought the tally to 10 league matches where they have failed to score this season.

Yet again Saints conceded a late goal, with both goals coming from set pieces.

Saints had a great chance to score after only 5 minutes, when Ryan McInnes released Barry Sibanda behind the visitors defence.

With only keeper Andrew Murphy to beat, Saints leading goal scorer sent a weak shot straight at the visitors keeper.

Fauldhouse opened the scoring after 24 minutes, when referee Chris Fordyce awarded them a penalty, after the ball struck Kevin McMullan’s arm.

Mark Aitken took the spot kick and fired an unsaveable shot into the top corner of the net.

In the 93rd minute, Fauldhouse were awarded a free kick 25 yards from goal.

Gary Shanks watched as his effort crashed off the woodwork. Jordan Love followed up to score the decisive second goal, much to the delight of the small away support.

The goal meant that Sauchie, who have not played a competitive game since the May 4, will now play Lochee United in a two legged play off to see which of the two clubs will play in the Super league next season.

Saints - Clarkson, Brand, McMullan, (Dobie), Whitehead, Murdoch, Rolland, McInnes, (Mackie), Patrick, Buchan, (Cunningham), Sibanda, Sturrock.

Subs - Wilson (, McNeish.

The club’s end of season awards were held at the conclussion of the match.

Winners were - Clubman of the Year - John Strachan;

Supporters Player of the Year - Craig Wedderburn; Committee Player of the Year - Barry Sibanda; Top Goal Scorer - Barry Sibanda (13);

Players’ Player of the Year - Kevin McMullan;

Manager’s Player of the Year - Barry Sibanda; Supporters Club Player of the Year - Craig Wedderburn.