Hot wobbler action at Drumcarrow

Gordon Peebles of Colinsburgh; East Neuk Wobblers
Gordon Peebles of Colinsburgh; East Neuk Wobblers

Drumcarrow was the venue for the final round of the East Neuk Wobblers club championship.

The day started calm yet bitterly cold, but the closeness of the competition soon had everybody who was taking part warmed up.

Several riders from across north east Fife arrived at the venue, all looking to put in a good showing on one of the last events of the year.

There were 10 sections to be tackled four times each, which meant everyone got their money’s worth.

Section One got the trial under way and most of the fancied runners made light work of it.

Grant Stewart, though, paid the penalty for a cold engine with a surprise stall and resulting five points.

He steadied the ship and rode the rest of the trial for a grand total of six.

With such a tight top order, he was pushed down to fourth.

The A route had a joint finish with Bob Malloch and Willie Gillespie both on only two marks, with local rider David Anderson taking the last podium spot on four.

Andy Durie took the honours in the twinshock class riding his very clean Yamaha Majesty.

The top three on the clubman’s course were Vic Allan, Keith Waddell and Wullie Paterson with only five marks separating them.

It was good to see so many youth riders with experienced riders mixing it with new and first-timers all trying to see could be top dog.

Youth A went to Gordon Peebles, youth B Kieran Hay, youth C Rory Hay and youth D Malcolm Summers. Kieran put in score cards that give him joint fourth place over all; quite some ride.

Three young riders in the C and D classes Lewis Fletcher, Ross Galloway and young Jamie Galloway rode the all 40 sections on the A route and well done to them all; they must be riders to watch in the future.

There is still action scheduled for this year, although that will be dependant on weather conditions not being too dangerous and treacherous for riders.

The date for the next trial is December 27, to be held at Drumcarrow; all welcome.