James is the pick of the Bunch at St Andrews

James Bunch secured a convincing victory at the Old Course on Friday evening to become champion of The St Andrews Golf Club.

Saturday, 2nd July 2016, 2:00 pm
St Andrews Golf Club champions 2016 (Peter Adamson)
St Andrews Golf Club champions 2016 (Peter Adamson)

He clinched the championship by beating Colin Davidson-Nixon in the final of the Dr Kyle Memorial Cup with what was a very impressive performance.

James was in great form and took control early on with four birdies and an eagle on the front nine.

Colin was forced to concede a par to James on the 13th resulting in an easy win for the champion in waiting.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

After a close first nine holes, Eric Gillespie was able to secure a fine five and three win at the 15th over Roy Verner in the final of the W. J. M. Lamond Trophy to win the Second Class title.

Ray Mitchell managed to take a one-hole victory in the Law Trophy, seeing off a late fightback from John Straiton.

The Junior and Juvenile Finals were held over the Jubilee Course on the same night.

Finlay Sey took the win in the Royal Bank Trophy to become the Juvenile Club Champion.

Vincent Clark put in a great performance to become the Junior Club Champion and win the J. F. Auchterlonie Memorial Trophy for the second year in succession.

Paul Martin was presented with the David Todd Trophy as the leading qualifier in the Jock Hutchison Cup while Raymond Perry took home the Allan Robertson Trophy as the leading qualifier in the Club Championships to cap a great night for club members.