Millar takes Tour of Fife title

Tour of Fife winners
Tour of Fife winners

The John R. Weir Tour of Fife concluded last Sunday with 139 runners completing all five races in the five days.

Lewis Millar (Central AC) became the first ever athlete to win two Tour titles completing the five races with an unbeaten record.

The 2009 winner returned this year to contest the 11th running of this popular event.

Wins at Falkland Forest, Hill of Tarvit, the Uphell Time Trial and the Chariots of Fire beach at St Andrews on Saturday evening were rounded off by victory at Sunday’s Twisted Chicken Forest Run from Strathmiglo.

Millar covered the five mile route (889ft ascent) over the Lomond foothills in 28 minutes 21 seconds, eight seconds clear of Keith Hood (Corstorphine).

Central AC junior Ross Milne followed in third to take third overall prize in the weeks standings ahead of Bryan Clark (Corstorphine) whose final day fourth place was good enough to see him finish overall runner-up.

Adam Harris, Crail, ran well throughout the week to place 10th overall following the five races and with Central junior Ross Milne taking third place prize Adam was awarded the overall junior prize.

It was an emotional finish for overall female winner Julia Henderson (Helensburgh) whose only defeat came over the West Sands losing by three seconds to Alison McGill.

Henderson rallied to finish the final day in 32 minutes 58 seconds, 27 second sclear of Alison.

Long-standing applause was reserved for Julia’s husband Andrew who a couple of months ago lost his battle against cancer; Helensburgh runner Andrew was born in Burntisland and was a keen supporter of Fife AC events.

Alison took overall second with Gillian Carr (Corstorphine) third on the day and over the week.

Amongst the many competitors from various parts of England was Janet Wilson (Carlisle) returning for her fifth ‘Tour’. Janet actually has paid six visits to the event, volunteering to marshal one year when she was injured!