Champion again

Gordon Moodie collects the James Clarke Cochrane memorial trophy
Gordon Moodie collects the James Clarke Cochrane memorial trophy
Share this article

Windygates driver Gordon Moodie retained the James Clarke Cochrane Trophy at Cowdenbeath Racewall on Saturday night.

Despite being involved in a shunt in an earlier race, Moodie came through in the final to lead George MacMillan Jnr and Robbie Dawson to the chequered flag and keep a hold of his title.

Elsewhere on the night, MacMillan Jnr made up for his disappointment, winning the Grand National from Gary Sime, Sam Wagner and Gregor Turner.

In the Superbowl, 33 saloon drivers took to the track, including world champion Eddie Darby.

After heat one, which went to southwest star Shane Brown, and heat two, which was won by Luke Grief, the Superbowl final got under way, only to be reformed following a shunt involving most of the cars on track.

The field lined up behind long-time leader Georgie Boult, who led the pack away, but had Brown diving inside as they exited the pit bend and promptly spun out of the race.

Brown held on to become the Superbowl champion from Darby and Barry Russell.

Chris Burgoyne won the Formula II Champion of Champions race and ministox driver Brandon Osbourne won the Disco Trophy ahead of Gemma Russell and Dale Buchan.

Dylan O’Donnell of Leven finished in seventh place.