Important triumph for Lundin tennis team

Anstruther Tennis Club competition finalists
Anstruther Tennis Club competition finalists

THE visit of Falkland’s top team to Lundin Sports was viewed with slight trepidation from the local side, but also with a determination to gain revenge for a defeat earlier in the season - and they did so with an 11-7 win.

To maximise the strengths within the squad, the hosts lined up with the pairings of Jamie Douglas with Brian Ortmann, Doug Allan with Stuart Kerr and the returning Jim Douglas with Andy Cargill.

This was to prove a good decision, as although Falkland’s top seeds proved to be too strong, Lundin’s pairings combined brilliantly to overpower their opponent’s second and thirds to claim a massive victory, which might just secure Lundin’s place next season.

Jamie Douglas and Brian Ortmann continued from where they left off the previous week, with Jamie’s forehand aces and Brian’s two-handed backhand passes generally being the reason for the pair admirably returning four winning sets.

The reliable duo of Doug Allan and Stuart Kerr, once again, complemented one another to maximum effect. Doug’s fleet-footedness combined with Stuart’s uncanny ability to find the net cord almost upset Falkland’s firsts. Eventually, the pair had to be content with securing a commendable three sets.

Finally, Lundin’s longest-running partnership of Jim and Jamie Douglas was separated for the first time ever, as Jim lined up with Andy Cargill. The newly-formed partnership quickly gelled and, with Andy’s deftness of touch allied to Jim’s defensive volleying, the pair soon racked up four winning sets to secure Lundin’s victory.

This week, Lundin face another tough test when travelling to face Perth side Kinnoull. Doug Allan has, however, confirmed his intention to make the journey down from Aberdeen to help the side’s cause.

Meanwhile, enthusiasts from Anstruther Tennis Club enjoyed perfect weather in which to play for the Andrew Anderson Memorial Trophy.

The event was keenly contested, with the winners Ann Hill and Niall Hall, left, receiving the trophy from Sheena Anderson.

Pictured right are runners-up Ellie Hall and Adam Alexander.