Kilmaron’s splashing success at long-running Brodie Gala

Winners of the Brodie Swimming Gala.
Winners of the Brodie Swimming Gala.

The Brodie Swimming Gala is the longest running event in the calendar of sport events organised by Disability Sport Fife (DSF).

The gala offers competitive swimming events to the most severely disabled pupils with additional support needs in Fife schools.

Cupar Swimming Pool is the traditional venue for the Gala and after a gap of two years the event was successfully reinstated to the DSF calendar in June of 2012 at the request of the school headteachers.

The 2012 Gala was supported by the Fife Sports and Leisure Trust. Officials from Scottish Swimming, many from Cupar and District Swimming Club, assisted with the running of the Gala.

Eight times winners of the A H Brodie Cup, Kilmaron School from Cupar, won the team trophy for the first time since 1987.


The attraction of the Brodie Gala programme is that it offers opportunities for swimmers of all levels of ability to compete for team points towards the overall team trophy.

The performance of each individual swimmer is important and every individual swimmer makes a contribution.

Until the final, the points scores were close between Hyndhead School from Buckhaven and Kilmaron School.

The local team edged in front at the final event to win the team trophy by only 2 points.

The trophy race is open to the fastest swimmers from each of the competing schools.


Craig Maskell from Kilmaron School was the 2012 winner in a time of 39.84 secs with Marc Glover from Lochgelly North finishing in second place.

Craig completed a wonderful days swimming with wins in the open 50m freestyle back and also open 50m freestyle front in addition to an excellent final leg in the inter schools relay. Kilmaron pupils finished the day with a relay win ahead of a combined John Fergus / Lochgelly North team who finished ahead of Calaiswood School from Dunfermline.

Kilmaron’s delighted head teacher, Isla Lumsden said: “Each week all of our youngsters put great effort in to their swimming. I am so pleased that their hard work and determination has been reward by winning the Brodie Gala.”

Individual race winners were Craig Maskell, Luke Johnston, Ryan Finlayson and Felix Taylor (Kilmaron), Christopher Dobbie, Alistair Crawford, Blayne Kelly and Lorraine Pirie (Hyndhead), Melissa Stevenson and Mark Glover (Lochgelly North), Tyler Taylor and Rosie Rees (John Fergus), Ivan Chetham and Scott Peddie (Calaiswood).

The final points scores were as follows: Kilmaron (17pts), Hyndhead (15pts), John Fergus (9pts), Calaiswood (9pts) and Lochgelly North (8pts).