Narrow defeat for Lundin golfer White

James White
James White

LundiN’S James White and Leven Golfing Society’s Brian Soutar finished second and equal fourth respectively in the weekend’s East of Scotland Open at Lundin Links.

A final round of 69 saw White finish with a score of six under par after earlier rounds of 71, 71 and 67 on his home course.

That, however, was five shots behind Baberton’s Paul Ferrier, who romped to his first Order of Merit crown on the senior amateur circuit.

The 22-year-old, who won the Scottish Boys’ championship in 2007, fired final-day rounds of 66 and 68 for an 11-under 273 .

White, who won the Scottish Boys’ event the year before Ferrier, had been aiming for back-to-back Order of Merit wins after his success in the previous weekend’s Tennant Cup but settled for second spot shooting 278.

Brian Soutar, the winner of the Scottish Champion of Champions back in April, finished tied for fourth, a further two shots back, on 280, alongside defending champion PeterLatimer of St Andrews New (and Lundin), and Mark Bookless of Sandyhills.

They were beaten into third by Graeme Robertson of Glenbervie.

Ferrier, who has spent the last four years at the University of Charlotte in the US, made a slow start to the tournament on Saturday with an opening round of 73, well behind the early pace-setter, Erskine’s Michael Daily, who set the early standard with a fine 65.

But a five-under 66 in round two kick-started his title tilt and pushed him to within two shots of halfway leader Graeme Robertson, who had hoisted himself to the front with scores of 68 and 69.

The Edinburgh man’s momentum continued to build on the Sunday and he surged away from his rivals over the closing 36-holes.

Further down the leaderboard, St Andrews teenager Ewan Scott, the former English Open under-14 champion, secured himself a top 10 finish on 284.

East of Scotland Open, presented by Golf In Dubai, leading final totals:

273 – P, Ferrier (Baberton) 73, 66, 66, 68.

278 – J. White (Lundin) 71, 71, 67, 69.

279 – G. Robertson (Glenbervie) 68, 69, 71, 71.

280 – P. Latimer (St Andrews New) 69, 71, 67, 73; B. Soutar (Leven GS) 73, 66, 71, 70; M. Bookless (Sandyhills) 71, 71, 65, 73.

282 – E. Bradley (Mount Ellen) 69, 72, 71, 70.

283 – M. Clark (Kilmacolm) 69, 72, 72, 70;

284 – A. Culverwell (Dunbar) 69, 70, 72, 73; D. Kay (Dunbar) 74, 71, 68, 71; D. Young (Craigie Hill) 67, 77, 68, 72; E. Scott (St Andrews) 66, 72, 71, 75; C. Robb (Inchmarlo) 70, 68, 69, 77; F. McKenna (Balmore) 72, 68, 71, 73.