There’s never a dull night at the Racewall

Ryan Forbes (61) in trouble with his saloon and getting a bit of help from Robin Copland (241)
Ryan Forbes (61) in trouble with his saloon and getting a bit of help from Robin Copland (241)

IT had all the hallmarks of being a low key meeting at the Cowdenbeath Racewall on Saturday with no formula IIs and rain falling.

But no one told the saloon or the ministox drivers that and as a result there was some cracking racing.

Saloon driver Stuart Shevill Jnr was sent crashing into the pit bend wall after Stevie Honeyman had looked to make up a place. Shevill’s car spun with all four wheels off the ground and was then hit by others before coming to rest facing the oncoming traffic and stopping the race.

Honeyman and Ian McLaughlin had a push at each other on the back straight resulting in the Honeyman car clipping the wall and dropping a place or two.

The ministox drivers were as usual not afraid to make contact and as a result there were quite a few cars being spun including Charlie Folan who was caught on the back straight.

There was a good turn out of saloon car drivers including Nigel Davies from south of the border whilst the local drivers were Kyle Hegg (Leslie), Kyle Irvine (Glenrothes) and Ross Watters (Leven).

The opening race was a white/yellow challenge heat which ended with Glen Heeps winning from Mike McCombie and Willie Mitchell.

Heat one ended up in the hands of Stevie Honeyman who was ahead of Stuart Shevill Jnr with Heeps third but he had been first home only to be penalised for an indiscretion whilst Irvine was seventh. Heat two ended with Shevill Jnr just winning from Ian McLaughlin by the narrowest of margins with McCombie in third just ahead of Irvine with Hegg sixth and Watters in ninth place.

McCombie and Barry Glen led the field away when the final started but both spun allowing Heeps into the lead from Neil McLaughlin. However I. McLaughlin had made a good start from the back of the field and at the half distance was in the lead. Glen and Hegg both spun but I. McLaughlin had built up a big lead to win from N. McLaughlin and Heeps with Irvine in sixth and Watters in ninth place.

Heeps then went through to win the Allcomers from McCombie and Aaryn Triggs with Hegg in seventh but Shevill Jnr was sent crashing into the pit bend wall bringing the race to a stop as soon as the chequer flags were waved.

The lightning rods found the wet conditions a bit difficult all except Lindsay Wilson who won all three races. Local drivers in action were Lindsay Wilson (Comrie) and Sean Farrell (Glenrothes).

Wilson won the opening heat from Chrissy Dearn and Dougie Kidd. In heat two it was Gary Nicholls who chased Wilson to the finish line with Dearn in third and Farrell in seventh place.

In the final Wilson was quickly into his stride and began working his way through the field. Paul Winfield had led but at the half distance Wilson caught and passed him and just held off the attentions of Nicholls to the chequer with Winfield in third place.

The ministox drivers were back in action for the second week in succession with the local driver being Chris Briggs (Rosyth).Zak Gilmour went through to win the opening heat from Colin Thomson and Briggs. In heat two Gilmour was again first home but he had Charlie Folan in close order and Louise Honeyman in third just ahead of Briggs. Gilmour made it three wins on the trot when he went through to win the final from Steven Burgoyne and Folan with Briggs in fifth place.

The Allcomers race ended with Briggs taking the chequer from Burgoyne and Camie McGowan.

This Saturday the formula IIs are back in action along with the saloons, stock rods and rookie bangers. The meeting starts at 6 p.m. The following Wednesday the stock cars are back at Knockhill where the formula IIs, saloons, stock rods, lightning rods and ministox drivers are in action.