Thomson gets flier to clinch Masters title

John Thomson Fife AC
John Thomson Fife AC

Glenrothes veteran athlete John Thomson got 2015 off to a tremendous start by claiming another Masters title.

Competing in the Scottish 3000 metres Masters championship at the Emirates Arena in Glasgow on Saturday, Thomson out-ran a competitive field to take the M55 gold medal, stopping the clock at 9 minutes 45.79 seconds to come home ahead of Rob McLennan, Garscube Harriers (9:51.09) and Stephen Smith, Preston/Northern Vets (9:56.21).

John will return to the Emirates later this month for the National Open meeting on the 17th before defending his titles at the National Masters Championships on the 31st.

Just over 100 runners braved the wet and windy weather on New Year’s Day as they blew away the Hogmanay hangovers by taking part in the inaugural Falkland Trail Runners Resolution Run at Falkland Estate.

It was Nic Brew, one of the host club members, who was first to complete the four-mile course with his time of 20 minutes 48 seconds some 20 seconds ahead of runner-up George Little, Fife AC, in 21.08 with David Millar, Ochil Hills Runners, in third place in 21.19.

The first female was Judith Turner, another F.T.R. member, who finished 10th overall in 23.38, two places further back in 12th and second female was Jillian Gordon, Kinross RR, in 24.08, Third female, finishing 25th overall, was Jennifer McFarlane, unattached, in 26.38.

A trio of Glenrothes athletes were in action at the 146th New Year Sprint meeting at Musselburgh Racecourse, former winner Cumbie Bowers along with Billy Martin contested the heats of the 110 metres New Year Sprint Handicap.

Bowers, despite being pipped by race backmarker Morro Bajo, Edinburgh AC, still qualified as one of the fastest losers to contest the cross-ties on New Years Day.

Unfortunately for the 2006 winner he couldn’t take his place in the cross-ties after sustaining an injury while contesting the Invitation 110 metres Backmarkers Sprint which took place after the heats.

Martin failed to make it through his heat.

Mike Murdoch contested the Open 4 Furlongs Handicap and managed to secure some prize money by finishing in sixth place behind winner Owen Miller, Pitreavie AC.

The 146th New Year Powderhall Sprint was won by 16-year-old Cameron Tindle, Edinburgh AC.