'˜Quality' of swimming group is celebrated

The Step Rock swimmers have made a splash in 2016.The Step Rock swimmers have made a splash in 2016.
The Step Rock swimmers have made a splash in 2016.
Step Rock Amateurs Swimming Club celebrated another year of success at their annual AGM which was held recently.

Continuing president, Ewen Sparks, praised “the quality and personalities of all the swimmers and coaches” and recognised the invaluable contribution made by the huge number of helpers and volunteers.

Highlights of the competitive year were a close second place in the Geordie Wotherspoon Championships with outstanding swims from the younger swimmers.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The senior team also enjoyed success with the boys 11-12 team dominating the Fife League.

Two swimmers in particular, Charlie Gillespie and Anna Hedley, were recognised for securing National Bronze Squad qualifying times.

Both were unable to attend the AGM as they were training with Scottish Swimming’s District Regional Programme.

Step Rock proudly sent squads to over 10 competitive events throughout the year

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Committee took great pleasure in proposing three new life-members: coaches Sharon Hedley and Tom Bourne and long-term friend of the club Ross Ainslie.

The AGM saw the opportunity for the formal presentation of club championship awards by new life-member Ross Ainslie.

The youngest swimmers competed for the Beginners Cups and the 2016 prizes went to Cameron Brough and Thea Wright.

Moving up the age groups, trophies were presented to Fraser Stewart and Freya Hedley (under 10s); Charlie Gillespie and Freya McLelland (under 12s); Angus McCallum and Anna Hedley (under 14s); Robert Sparks and Mairi Noble (open gents and ladies).

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

In addition the Club makes a special award to a boy and girl each year who have stood out as an example and role model to other swimmers for their all round attitude and achievement.

The 2016 winners were Callum Findlay and Isla Thoms.

New Club Championship records were also celebrated with Angus McCallum smashing two records in the May gala.

Club treasurer, Eric Gillespie, closed the meeting by telling members of exciting plans for the club’s 90th anniversary in 2018.

Related topics: