Russell’s outstanding PB a Step Rock highlight

Corey Philip and Archie Suttie - Novice League flash award winners
Corey Philip and Archie Suttie - Novice League flash award winners

Step Rock swimmers travelled to Glenrothes for the second of four league fixtures.

Making their competitive debuts for Step Rock were Corey Philip, Tilly Whittet and Sanna Wright - Corey winning a too fast flash award in his 25m backstroke and Tilly taking first place in the girls 10-and-over 50m backstroke.

Archie Suttie took home his first ever flash – after a 25m freestyle swim.

Further first place swims came from Ava Webster, Jack Webster and Kayla Bain (all breaststroke), Beinn Anderson (breaststroke and butterfly) and Corey Findlay (butterfly).

Other top three finishes were secured by Thea Wright, Cameron Brough and Jack Anderson (all backstroke), Kaitlyn Gillon, Sam Jaffray, Eilish Noble, Ava Webster and Daniel Wilson (all breaststroke), and Kaitlyn Lumsden (freestyle).

Step Rock boys won both the 9-and-under and 10-and-over medley relays, whilst the girls 9-and-under team was third.

In the Fife League, Russell Laker raced to a 13.5sec PB to win the 11/12 boys 100m freestyle.

Several young swimmers took on the 200m breaststroke for the first time, Abbey Wallace producing a notably good swim.

Other age group wins came from Charlie Gillespie (11/12 boys; 100m back) and Anna Hedley (13/14 girls; 100m butterfly), with top three positions from Davie de Wolff (13/14 boys; 100m breaststroke), Charlie Gillespie (11/12 boys; 200m breaststroke), Hamish Findlay (13/14 boys; 100m backstroke), Freya Hedley (9/10 girls; 100m breaststroke), Isla Hedley (11/12 girls; 100m butterfly) and Angus McCallum (13/14 boys; 100 butterfly).